Read Reviews Before Starting a Book, or No?

Do reviews influence you one way or the other? My thoughts in particular are book reviews? On Goodreads.com. On Amazon.com.

I started a book, it was recommended by a friend. A friend, whom I seem to connect with when it comes to reading. We generally like the same type of books.

The book in question is “Goldfinch” by Tartt. Upon first look at the book, I didn’t want to deal. I tend to be turned off by the length. I think it’s my ADHD/ADD aspect that factors into this. This is why I have not gotten into the Outlander series. I heard they were great, fantastic. I’m not sure why length is an issue. After all, I am a reader.

Back to Goldfinch. I read the blurb on the book. Okay, I thought, I kind of like the idea of that book. So I begin to read it. I’m 200 pages in and so far, so good (it’s a 700+ page book). But I decided to browse the reviews on Goodreads. Some of them are not good. I continue to read and some of them state that the book would have been better if the book was trimmed. Others state, that this is true but a lot of the passages are expressive and well written. Others say they hate the main character.

Do you ever read reviews and become turned off by the book? I suppose my biggest fear is reading the book and then being disappointed and then think to myself-I should have heeded the reviews.

But then I think, there are some very popular books that I didn’t care for–The Shack being one. But I finished it and was, somewhat disappointed. And the Curious Dark in the Nighttime-was another one.

I will continue to read this book but I just hope I’m not going to be disappointed.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aubreyleaman
    Aug 23, 2015 @ 16:59:45

    Great point! Sometimes I like to just read a book without knowing anything about it. That’s what I did with Anna Karenina and it was incredible! I love the experience of having no expectations or even knowledge of what it’s going to be about and instead just letting it take you on its journey.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. mcarnes811
    Aug 23, 2015 @ 17:01:42

    I hear you. I have read reviews that sound like the book is the best thing since sliced bread and then I have hated the book. Goldfinch was definitely one. It was a rambling mess although some parts were good with good writing so I slogged through it. I read somewhere if you read 100 pages of a book and don’t like it put it down. Am going to start doing that since I can’t waste my time on books I don’t like.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

