Life Changing Opportunity

A few months ago, I put in an application to join a medical mission group. I was approved for the beginning of the year for 2 months. Last week I sent in my physical, I passed the medical clearance (no surprise there). So it is official, official.

I received my packet, including the list of vaccinations, rules for traveling, and information on funding needs. For vaccinations-I am pretty well set. I think all I need is the Yellow Fever but I will have to look at my medical papers. For traveling-I probably will not purchase an airline ticket until beginning to mid November. The rules are to fly into the airport the night before, the morning we are to board a bus and it is a 8 hour drive. I have to pay overnight at the hotel and about $25 for the 8 hour bus trip that includes lunch.

Generally I will be a unit nurse for adults. Working about 8 hrs/day (some nights thrown in), 5 days/week. I think this will be an eye opening experience in more ways than one. 1) seeing a different culture. 2) seeing a different culture when they are vulnerable 3) a different language 4) experiencing different religion and 5) seeing medical care given in a 3rd world country.

I expect myself to be changed person coming back. I mean just my months of being a travel nurse-I am a changed person. Such as, I am not that materialistic. I do not need things. I can live without many things that do not find in the back of my car. Now, when I go to settle down, I want a smaller house (think Tiny House Nation).

Yes, I am beyond excited. People around me are nervous and some do not think I should go. But I want to. I do not have kids, I do not have Mr Almost Right…what’s the point in NOT going? It’s my way and need to give back. It’s something that I have always wanted to do.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mcarnes811
    Sep 16, 2015 @ 16:16:55

    You go girl. Many many years ago I joined the Army Nurse Corps( Vietnam era) Many people did not want me to do it including my mother. My parents had to sign for me as I was under 21. It was the best decision of my life. and I am a better person for it. It opened up my small home town ideas to other people’s views. I met so many different people(some good and some not so good) I was stationed in Louisiana and then went to northern Italy for 2 years. I met my husband in Italy(a Texas boy) and we have been married over 40 years. I am listed in the database in the Women’s Memorial in Washington DC The memorial is at the entrance to Arlington Cemetery.
    So you go girl. It will be a life changing opportunity and one that you will never regret. I admire you for wanting to join a medical mission in a 3rd world country. Please keep us posted and I will keep you in my prayers.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Karuna
    Sep 18, 2015 @ 04:43:41

    I read Cherry Ames books as a child. One of those books was about her adventures as a travel nurse. That series inspired me enough that I also became a nurse. There was also a point in my life when I wanted to be a missionary.

    Now, I travel to India regularly although it is not as a nurse or a missionary!

    Thanks for bringing back so many memories through your post.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

