Trouble Maker by Leah Remini

untitled

SPOILER ALERT!!!!

4 out of 5 stars

I was “excited” to read this book. Though perhaps excited is not the correct term. I have always been interested in “religions”. What? Why? How? As in what brought them to the religion? Why did they choose that religion over others? And how did the stay or leave?

Of course, Scientology always fascinated me because it was founded by a man who authored sci-fi books. As in fictional. Furthermore-science fiction. It boggles my mind that people are lead to believe this is the right way to go.

Not that I think it was either right nor wrong. I think if any religion or sect benefits you to be a healthier human (and healthy towards other humans), it’s a good thing. I also think all religions can lead you into being negative too. I think it’s a matter of how much you take from it.

You read about stories of Scientology. You read about how they want you to disassociate with people who have left the church or who have outright spoken badly about the church. In my view, I don’t think any religion is good if they want you to separate from your loved ones. I also think it’s astonishing that a facility/church/religion is allowed to send kids off, without their parents, and basically do slave labor in ill institutions.

Having said that-I have never been in one myself. So I can only go by what I’ve read from ex-member’s experience.

I expect a celebrity to do some name dropping and Remini doesn’t shy away from that. Because I expected it-I was okay with it. What I liked about Remini’s book is that she has nothing to lose but at the same time everything to lose speaking out “against” the church.

Nothing to lose because I think a lot of people are supporting her and I think some other big names have since left the church as well-though in a quieter manner. Everything to lose because she is in the world of Hollywood where people view Tom Cruise as a KING (why? I don’t get it, I never cared for his movies or moreso for him as an actor) and it appears that the world of Scientology views him as just that and perhaps this is why he likes that world? According to Remini-Cruise is not treated like other members of the church. Cruise is catered to. When Cruise entered Celeb Centre-everyone leaves. When Cruise is trying to have a date-Scientology caters to try to do everything they can to hook him up with another Scientology. Much like arranged marriage/dating. So says Remini.

Remini also makes mention of them trying to get her to recruit her friend Jennifer Lopez. Which is odd because in the book Remini mentions that Lopez’s father is a Scientologist. I would think that if J-Lo’s dad cannot get her into the religion-why/how could anyone else? Though I remember when Lisa Marie Presley married Michael Jackson-there were rumors that LMP was to try to recruit MJ into Scientology. Money follows money, afterall.

You also read about Scientologists makes like miserable if you speak out against the church. Which is and why I give Remini a lot of kudos and that to her husband, family, and friends for staying by her side.

Not to mention-Remini questioning the acts of Scientology. Asking their members to donate money for Katrina relief and when Remini question why she didn’t see any members going there and handing out water, etc-she was given the run around, etc. Then there is the head of the church who attends Cruise’s wedding NOT with his wife but with someone else. Which, I would agree, is weird because that’s a high profile wedding-why wouldn’t a higher up in the church, who is supposedly close to Cruise, bring his wife?!? I think she’s right to question the wife’s whereabouts.

Since Remini grew up in Scientology-you do have to wonder if she is/was more privilege to know more of the ongoings of Scientology than lets say the likes of Tom Cruise and Kirstie Alley, Presley & Lisa Marie? All celeb status and thus probably did not witness the hole in the wall hotel that young teens and pre-teens had to clean and when the work was done could not sit by the pool and crap sum of money.

Along with the amount of money the average Joe shells out for the teachings and rankings of Scientology levels. Perhaps this is not what the every day celeb sees because they are probably scooted up in rankings without doing the dirty work. Just pay x millions of dollars and poof-like magic, you’re there-at the top.

I “understand” Remini’s mothers mission towards the church, Remini touches a tad bit on it in the book. Just before the release of this book, I did tweet Remini’s mother (due to the reality show “It’s All Relative” she’s accessible on Twitter—the show, by the way, is hilarious) and asked if she was going to write a memoir and her journey too? She, unfortunately, responded with a “no”. Writing about one’s life is not for everyone. I, personally, LOVE memoirs from others and would definitely like to read it. Perhaps in due time, Remini’s mom will reconsider.

Overall, I definitely give this a 4 out of 5 stars. I recommend it for anyone that enjoys a Hollywood story and/or likes to read about Scientology.

Leave a Reply

